About RLCC

During the winter of 1967-68, approximately 20 couples, including 4-6 individuals who had curled previously, joined in the cattle barn of the Barron County Fairgrounds, and began what is now known as the Rice Lake Curling Club.  Two sheets of ice between the rows of stanchions were flooded with a truck that, in warmer weather, sprinkled water down the race track.  All scraping was done by hand,  The "warming house" was a modified school bus that Vonasek & Schieffer construction workers used for a lunch area.  The State Curling Association loaned the club second-hand rocks, and 16 brooms were made out of broom handles and carpet.  In 1976-77, after an addition was completed to make the rinks the correct length and a viewing room was added, the club moved into the 4-H building.  The same year also saw the acquisition of a double-wide trailer for a clubhouse, complete with indoor bathrooms! That same season, the RLCC hosted its first mixed invitational bonspiel.  On August 1 of 1988, the building burned to the ground.  With the hard work and dedication of the membership, the impossible was accomplished; the building that now houses one of Wisconsin's largest and most modern curling clubs was financed, constructed and ready for curling for that 1988-89 season !!

General Officers and Board of Directors:


Jim Berndt

Phone 715-234-4829

President May 2017-May 2019

Past President May 2019-May 2020

Vice President (Past President or President Elect)

Kathy Ricci

Phone 715-790-1122

President Elect May 2018-May 2020


Stacee Sevals

Phone 715-579-6628

Term May 2017 - May 2019


Mel Pearson

Phone 715-205-7199

Term May 2017 - May 2020

Phil Henkel

Phone 715-651-1924

Term May 2017 - May 2020

Greg Swanson

Phone 715-790-2929

Term May 2016 - May 2019

Ben Rivard

Phone 715-205-1519

Term May 2017 - May 2019

Dane Jensen

Phone 715-296-2716

Term May 2018 - May 2021

Mark Turner

Phone 715-205-1265

Term May  2018 - May 2021

Appointed Positions:

Club Manager

Larry Anderson

Phone 715-205-3183


Kraig Smith

Phone 715-931-0648

Website Manager

Kristina Zengaffinen

Phone 715-642-2907

Ice Keepers  

Eric Severson

Phone 715-205-5515

Scott Sharp

Phone 715-234-4995

League Chairpersons:

Early League – Ty Grueztmacher

Sunday Night Men’s - John Mickesh

Monday Night Men’s – Bob Arbitan

Tuesday Night Open Split Season– Ric Sharp

Wednesday Night Mixed – Jim and Lucy Berndt

Thursday Morning Practice – Bill Kind

Thursday Night Women’s – Kathy Laffin

Friday Night Open – Tim and Deb Wold

Saturday Morning - 5 and Under Practice – Mark and Marsha Shuda

Standing Committees:
Ice Committee
Bill Kind, Eric Severson, Scott Sharp, Bd mbr: Dane Jensen
Draw Committee
Bill Kind, Larry Anderson, John Mickesh, Bd mbr: Mark Turner
Educational/Communication Committee
Bill Kind, Mark Shuda, Bd mbr: Greg Swanson.
Sign Committee
Larry Anderson, Bd mbr: Mel Pearson
Junior Committee
Deb Schmidt, Don Drost, Sarah Turner, Bd mbr: Phil Henkel.
Building Committee
Bob Stanonik, Bd mbr: Ben Rivard.

Are you interested in serving on the Board? We hold elections every spring. Please contact Jim Berndt for more information.